The ability to turn off the 'online notification' pop ups
When I log in, my whole team receives a pop up on bottom corner of their desktop indicating I am online. This happens multiple times throughout the day. Very annoying pop up - there should be a way to turn this function off. There is no reason for my team to receive a notification when I come online - I am either available or I am not. The status indication is more than enough. Why this invasion of privacy letting everybody know whether they need to or not? These 'online' pop ups do not belong in a professional business environment.
Brad Stoltz commented
This whole feature is a mess and needs to be disabled by default...
Mike Trieu (MegasChara) commented
Bill, that only works for the other party, not for yourself. SfB currently states "currently everyone can see my presence but this could change in the future". So, clearly, Microsoft is deliberating on this feature and are aware of the privacy implications. They just haven't made a clear decision to give the user ultimate control over their presence indicators. Hopefully, they'll do the right thing and sooner rather than later.
Bill Brasky commented
I was able to turn this off by right clicking a name in "my group" then de-selecting the checked - tag for status change alerts optioin